Knock knock knock, hey mum. We are moving. What!!!!! That was the reaction your dad said. When are we moving. Today. Ohhh. Ok I guess I’ll start packing. Later that day, we are in the car and I’m annoyed because the old air con isn’t working and were in the middle of summer. When we pulled up outside the house it was YELLOW! How, we must be at the wrong house and why is a house ever YELLOW! So I asked mum and she said it was the right place. I looked at the photo, it’s actually YELLOW! And so was the house next to it.

2 thoughts on “The New House

  1. Hello Riley! Your story reminded me of a time when our parents let the children of the house choose the colour to paint the kitchen. We chose canary yellow. It did make the kitchen look very bright but our parents didn’t ask us what colour we wanted the next time the kitchen was painted. I like how your story slowly takes us to the “punch” line of the story where we find not only is one house is yellow but the one next to it is too. I was so surprised by that and it really grabbed my interest. Well done. I wonder why yellow? Next chapter maybe.

  2. Hello Riley,

    Arriving at home to find your family was moving that day would be a shock. Being in a hot car then arriving at your new home didn’t go well. I can tell you weren’t very happy to find your new house was yellow so I believe, at least for houses, yellow isn’t you favourite colour. Well done.

    Ross Mannell (Team 100WC)
    Teacher (retired), N.S.W., Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *